Day 10

So its the end of my second.

Can say with confidence I’m settled in to my new working environment. Getting used to keeping busy, taking short frequent breaks and managing my own time. As far as a work place goes its a bit different to places I’ve worked before but I am managing without any hassles. Bit less tired feeling this week to. Hopefully I’m just adjusting to the sitting still.

So today I mainly done a bit of emailing and some research here and there for upcoming tasks. I also worked on and completed my first draft of requirement for my PIPER project. The task list was also sorted and I will keep that up to date as I go along with this project. Requirements have been sent off to Lynne to get signed off.

I spent a bit of time reading the student placement guide too and have put a good bit of thought into my project after an email back from Iain this morning. Also got an email from Gillian at the Uni confirming all the necessary Uni paper work has been sent in.

The project is to be a research paper. I originally thought it was to be a more practical design and build project but I am happy with this and actually already have a good idea. Just need to get it sorted in my head and sent off to Iain, Cathy and Lynne to see what they think. So that can be a bigger job for next week.

I also filled out my first official progress report. Just a simple word document to be sent in every Friday so management can keep track of everyone and see how the various projects are coming along.

I have been making use the outlook calendar as well on my work PC as it is what they use for scheduling here. Cathy has scheduled me for a catch up meeting on Friday’s but says obviously we won’t need to meet every week. Cathy has shown a real interest in my placement and seems keen for it to go well and to utilise me as much as possible but still finding a good work/life/study balance. I was also able to get the calendar syncing with my phone too so that should help me keep track of everything more.

Next week should be fun as I get stuck into the project design stage.

That’s all for now…

Leave a comment